Electric Consumer

Editor: Katerine G., Editor & Data Researcher · Research & publishing: Electric Consumer Editorial Team · Data retrieved · Sources named on this page: EIA · How we got these numbers · Report an error

Wisconsin rate cases: asked vs granted

$57.8Mcut from the Alliant Energy request (Nov 2025)

Wisconsin regulators trimmed the requests, but the sources give the cut and not the granted totals, so Wisconsin has no granted share.

Wisconsin cases we verified

Wisconsin: 5 verified electric rate case rows
Utility and stepDocketAsked, $MGranted, $MShareDecidedSource
Alliant Energy, 2026-2027not stated in articlenot givencut 57.8no shareNov 2025Wisconsin Public Radio (check)
Xcel Energy, 2026-2027not stated in article150.7cut 24.6no shareNov 2025Wisconsin Public Radio (check)
Madison Gas and Electric, 2026-2027not stated in articlenot givencut 28.5no shareNov 2025Wisconsin Public Radio
We Energies, 2025-2026not stated in articlenot givencut 188olderNov 7, 2024 (older)Wisconsin Public Radio
Wisconsin Public Service, 2025-2026not stated in articlenot givencut 134olderNov 7, 2024 (older)Wisconsin Public Radio

What Wisconsin regulators decided

Alliant Energy (Wisconsin Power and Light): regulators cut $57.8 million below the request (Nov 2025). The source does not give the granted total, so there is no share. The reported $9.57 a month works out to 1.4 cents on every kWh, about 8% on top of the 18.16 cent Wisconsin average for 2025.

Xcel Energy (Northern States Power, Wisconsin): regulators cut $24.6 million below the request (Nov 2025). The source does not give the granted total, so there is no share. The reported $13.47 a month works out to 2.0 cents on every kWh, about 11% on top of the 18.16 cent Wisconsin average for 2025.

Madison Gas and Electric: regulators cut $28.5 million below the request (Nov 2025). The source does not give the granted total, so there is no share. The reported $0.13 a month works out to 0.0 cents on every kWh, about 0% on top of the 18.16 cent Wisconsin average for 2025.

We Energies: regulators cut $188 million below the request (Nov 7, 2024). The source does not give the granted total, so there is no share.

Wisconsin Public Service: regulators cut $134 million below the request (Nov 7, 2024). The source does not give the granted total, so there is no share.

Asked and granted in Wisconsin

Wisconsin electric rate cases: asked, granted and cut, million dollarsaskedgrantedcut below request (granted total not given)Alliant Energy, 2026-2027cut 57.8Xcel Energy, 2026-2027150.7cut 24.6Madison Gas and Electric, 2026-2027cut 28.5We Energies, 2025-2026 (older)cut 188Wisconsin Public Service, 2025-2026 (older)cut 134million dollars a year unless the source gives a multi-year total

What the Wisconsin increase means for your bill (illustration)

How the Wisconsin numbers are measured

  • Alliant Energy, 2026-2027. Basis: two-year revenue; request roughly $200 million per the article. The article puts the request at roughly $200 million over two years and gives the cut as the only exact dollar figure. PSC estimates +$9.57 a month in 2026 for the average residential electric customer; the article does not reconcile that with the utility's own lower estimate.
  • Xcel Energy, 2026-2027. Basis: two-year revenue. Request and cut come from different articles and are not netted here.
  • Madison Gas and Electric, 2026-2027. Basis: two-year revenue. Cut only.
  • We Energies, 2025-2026. Basis: two-year revenue; 8.79% overall approved. PSC says about $188 million less than requested over the two years. Preliminary PSC estimate: +$7.62 a month in 2025 and +$9.73 in 2026.
  • Wisconsin Public Service, 2025-2026. Basis: two-year revenue; 7.33% overall approved. About $134 million less than requested. Preliminary PSC estimate: +$7.11 a month in 2025.

Wisconsin requests filed in 2026, outcome not checked

Wisconsin electric rate requests listed by PowerLines
UtilityCustomersFiledAsked, $B
Wisconsin Electric Power1,175,000April 20260.3
Wisconsin Public Service474,000April 20260.1
Northern States Power270,000May 20260.0
Wisconsin Electric Power Company1,100,000March 20260.0

PowerLines data, counted in no Wisconsin share.

Context

The 2025 EIA home price in Wisconsin was 18.16 cents per kWh, number 16 of 51 areas. At 666 kWh a month that is about $121 a bill.

Rules on Wisconsin utility rates: Public Service Commission of Wisconsin, apps.psc.wi.gov.

Keep going

Sources

Wisconsin price and use: EIA. Wisconsin rows as data: CSV.

Questions

How much did Alliant Energy ask for in Wisconsin, and what was granted?

Alliant Energy (Wisconsin Power and Light): regulators cut $57.8 million below the request (Nov 2025). The source does not give the granted total, so there is no share.

When did Wisconsin regulators decide these cases?

The newest Wisconsin decision we verified is dated Nov 2025. Docket: a docket number that our Wisconsin sources do not name.

What did the Wisconsin decision add to a monthly bill?

For Alliant Energy, about $9.57 more a month in 2026 at a typical customer (the source does not state the kWh), per Wisconsin Public Radio.

Why is there no granted share for Wisconsin?

Wisconsin's rows give only a cut, or set a request against a result measured another way. A share built on that would mislead, so only dollars are shown.

Where do I find the Wisconsin docket?

Ask Public Service Commission of Wisconsin for a docket number that our Wisconsin sources do not name. Start at https://apps.psc.wi.gov/ERF/ERFsearch/content/searchResult.aspx.

Do these cover every Wisconsin rate case?

No. Wisconsin has other electric cases; the 2026 table above adds 4 requests with outcome unchecked.

Share this page

$57.8M cut from the Alliant Energy request (Nov 2025)