Electric Consumer

Editor: Katerine G., Editor & Data Researcher · Research & publishing: Electric Consumer Editorial Team · Data retrieved · Sources named on this page: EIA-861 · How we got these numbers · Report an error

How reliable is the power in Virginia?

30%of Virginia's 4,023,734 customers are with utilities that give IEEE 1366 figures, with and without major events

Utilities that report under the IEEE 1366 standard cover 1,222,369 of the 4,023,734 customers EIA lists for Virginia (30%). The rule is 60% and 100,000 customers, so Virginia has no state number. Utilities on another method serve 2,701,449 customers.

Why Virginia has no state figure

14 utilities use the IEEE 1366 method, 4 use another, and 17 gave no reliability figures. The two methods are not averaged together.

The largest Virginia utilities that report under IEEE 1366

Appalachian Power Co serves 45% of the customers in the Virginia IEEE 1366 group: 80% of lost customer-minutes with major events, 62% without.

  • Appalachian Power Co: 550,129 customers (45%), 342 min without and 1,714 with; 80% of lost minutes with major events, 62% without.
  • Kentucky Utilities Co: 29,557 customers (2%), 147 min without and 2,044 with; 5% of lost minutes with major events, 1% without.
  • Rappahannock Electric Coop: 180,578 customers (15%), 189 min without and 301 with; 5% of lost minutes with major events, 11% without.

All Virginia utilities in the 2024 file

35 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for Virginia: 14 follow IEEE 1366, 4 use another method, 17 filed no reliability figures. 18 are listed.

Virginia utilities with 2024 reliability figures
City of Salem - (VA)MunicipalIEEE 136613,51927270.240.2401 of 12—
City of Manassas - (VA)MunicipalIEEE 136616,62528560.612.42502 of 12—
Bristol Virginia UtilitiesMunicipalIEEE 136615,954365300.347.58933 of 12—
Northern Virginia Elec CoopCooperativeIEEE 1366177,13962950.770.86344 of 12—
Kentucky Utilities CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 136629,5571472,0441.272.68935 of 12—
Northern Neck Elec Coop, IncCooperativeIEEE 136620,696169—1.96——6 of 12—
Rappahannock Electric CoopCooperativeIEEE 1366180,5781893011.752.16377 of 12—
Shenandoah Valley Elec CoopCooperativeIEEE 136699,8372264812.322.95538 of 12—
Mecklenburg Electric CooperativeCooperativeIEEE 136631,9972743602.232.50249 of 12—
Southside Electric Coop, IncCooperativeIEEE 136659,3383093922.813.122110 of 12—
Appalachian Power CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366550,1293421,7141.612.258011 of 12—
Central Virginia Electric CoopCooperativeIEEE 136639,3663513512.612.61012 of 12—
Virginia Electric & Power CoInvestor OwnedOther method2,635,2671311721.211.36—Not rankedother method, not comparable
A & N Electric CoopCooperativeOther method37,628861091.371.51—Not rankedother method, not comparable
City of Harrisonburg - (VA)MunicipalOther method21,70516160.260.26—Not rankedother method, not comparable
Prince George Electric CoopCooperativeIEEE 136613,20191280———Not ranked—
Powell Valley Electric CoopCooperativeIEEE 13668,330695093.705.6487Not rankedunder 10,000 customers
Virginia Tech Electric ServiceStateOther method6,849—9—0.12—Not rankedother method, not comparable; under 10,000 customers

CSV, all utilities

Virginia utilities with no reliability figures

17 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row.

Virginia, no reliability figures
UtilityTypeCustomers
City of Danville - (VA)Municipal42,984
Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter68
City of Radford - (VA)Municipal—
BP Energy Retail LLCNot stated—
Town of Bedford - (VA)Municipal—
City of Franklin - (VA)Municipal—
BARC Electric Coop IncCooperative—
Community Electric CoopCooperative—
Town of Blackstone - (VA)Municipal—
Texas Retail Energy, LLCNot stated—
Constellation NewEnergy, IncNot stated—
Craig-Botetourt Electric CoopCooperative—
City of Martinsville - (VA)Municipal—
Town of Culpeper- (VA)Municipal—
Town of Richlands - (VA)Municipal—
Tennessee Valley AuthorityNot stated—
Town of ElktonMunicipal—

The biggest Virginia utilities against the U.S.

  • Virginia Electric & Power Co (investor owned, 66% of Virginia customers in the file): reports on another method, SAIFI 1.36, not compared with the U.S. figure.
  • Appalachian Power Co (investor owned, 14% of Virginia customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 342 min, 213 above the U.S. 129; with major events 1714 min against 662.
  • Northern Virginia Elec Coop (cooperative, 5% of Virginia customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 62 min, 67 below the U.S. 129; with major events 95 min against 662.
  • Rappahannock Electric Coop (cooperative, 4% of Virginia customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 189 min, 59 above the U.S. 129; with major events 301 min against 662.
  • Shenandoah Valley Elec Coop (cooperative, 3% of Virginia customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 226 min, 97 above the U.S. 129; with major events 481 min against 662.

Virginia by type of utility

Among Virginia utilities that report under IEEE 1366, municipal utilities average 30 minutes without major events and investor owned utilities 332.

Virginia by type
TypeUtilitiesCustomersSAIDI withoutMedian utilitySAIDI with
Cooperative8617,281182207288
Investor Owned2579,6863322451,731
Municipal346,0983028212

Virginia report card

Smart meters: 95% of residential meters, 17 utilities (U.S. 92%). Virginia time-based rates: 7 of 17 utilities, 0.7% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). Virginia efficiency spend: $24.6 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 32 W per customer (U.S. 77). Virginia net-metered systems: 17.8 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.

Is your Virginia utility better or worse than the Virginia median?

  • Loading.

More

18 Virginia filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 12 ranked utilities. Method and sources.

Questions

Why is Virginia not ranked?

IEEE 1366 reporters cover 30% of Virginia customers, under the 60% and 100,000 rule.

Which Virginia utility reported the fewest and the most minutes?

Among 12 utilities with 10,000+ customers: City of Salem - (VA) 27 minutes without major events, and Central Virginia Electric Coop 351.

Which Virginia utilities use which method?

14 follow IEEE 1366, 4 use another method, 17 filed no reliability figures.

Share this page

30% of Virginia's 4,023,734 customers are with utilities that give IEEE 1366 figures, with and without major events

Cite this page

Underlying data are U.S. government works (EIA, Census Bureau). Our tables and charts: CC BY 4.0, credit Electric Consumer. The access date fills in when you open this page.

APA

Electric Consumer. (2026). Virginia power reliability 2024: utility figures, no state number. Data as of 7 October 2026. Retrieved [date accessed], from https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/virginia.html

MLA

Electric Consumer. “Virginia power reliability 2024: utility figures, no state number.” Electric Consumer, data as of 7 October 2026, https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/virginia.html. Accessed [date accessed].

Chicago

Electric Consumer. “Virginia power reliability 2024: utility figures, no state number.” Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]. https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/virginia.html.

BibTeX

@misc{usedata_reliability_states_virginia,
  author = "Electric Consumer",
  title = {Virginia power reliability 2024: utility figures, no state number},
  year = {2026},
  url = {https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/virginia.html},
  note = {Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]}
}
Embed this chart or number

Free to use. No tracking, no scripts. Each embed links back to this site.

Charts on this page (SVG)

Copies a self-contained SVG with the source and a link to this page inside the image.