Electric Consumer

Editor: Katerine G., Editor & Data Researcher · Research & publishing: Electric Consumer Editorial Team · Data retrieved · Sources named on this page: EIA-861 · How we got these numbers · Report an error

How reliable is the power in Maryland?

75 minthe average Maryland customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 118 min with them

Maryland ranks 11th of 45 states without major events and 9th with them (1st = fewest minutes), 54 below the U.S. 129 and 543 below the U.S. 662. Major events added 43 minutes, 36% of the with-events total. The figure covers 2,685,372 customers, 97% of the 2,773,701 EIA lists for Maryland.

Maryland with and without major events

minutes without power per customer, 2024, Maryland and U.S.

  1. 75Maryland, no major events
  2. 129U.S., no major events
  3. 118Maryland, with major events
  4. 662U.S., with major events
Maryland and U.S. reliability measures, 2024
MeasureMaryland withoutMaryland withU.S. withoutU.S. with
SAIDI, minutes per customer75118129662
SAIFI, interruptions per customer0.690.821.061.53
CAIDI, minutes per interruption109145122433
Median utility, SAIDI minutes67134——

Which Maryland utilities move the number

Baltimore Gas & Electric Co serves 50% of the customers in the Maryland figure: 56% of lost customer-minutes with major events, 44% without. Without Baltimore Gas & Electric Co, the weighted figure would be 103 minutes with major events and 84 without, against 118 and 75.

  • Baltimore Gas & Electric Co: 1,341,009 customers (50%), 67 min without and 133 with; 56% of lost minutes with major events, 44% without.
  • The Potomac Edison Company: 284,807 customers (11%), 159 min without and 168 with; 15% of lost minutes with major events, 22% without.
  • Potomac Electric Power Co: 600,103 customers (22%), 46 min without and 65 with; 12% of lost minutes with major events, 14% without.

All Maryland utilities in the 2024 file

21 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for Maryland: 7 follow IEEE 1366, 1 uses another method, 13 filed no reliability figures. 8 are listed.

Maryland utilities with 2024 reliability figures
Easton Utilities CommMunicipalIEEE 136610,99010100.230.2301 of 7—
Potomac Electric Power CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366600,10346650.510.59292 of 7—
Delmarva PowerInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366214,08756790.570.68293 of 7—
Baltimore Gas & Electric CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 13661,341,009671330.630.80504 of 7—
Southern Maryland Elec Coop IncCooperativeIEEE 1366177,3291141461.131.31225 of 7—
Choptank Electric Cooperative, IncCooperativeIEEE 136657,0471201441.171.30166 of 7—
The Potomac Edison CompanyInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366284,8071591681.071.1157 of 7—
A & N Electric CoopCooperativeOther method31729290.230.23—Not rankedother method, not comparable; under 10,000 customers

CSV, all utilities

Maryland utilities with no reliability figures

13 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row.

Maryland, no reliability figures
UtilityTypeCustomers
Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter27,136
Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter25,231
Hagerstown Light DepartmentMunicipal17,743
TerraForm US Energy Services, LLCBehind the Meter7
Greenbacker Renewable Energy CorporationBehind the Meter1
MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCNot stated—
Town of Berlin - (MD)Municipal—
BP Energy Retail LLCNot stated—
Constellation NewEnergy, IncNot stated—
Thurmont Municipal Light CoMunicipal—
Texas Retail Energy, LLCNot stated—
Freepoint Energy Solutions LLCNot stated—
Town of Williamsport - (MD)Municipal—

The biggest Maryland utilities against the U.S.

  • Baltimore Gas & Electric Co (investor owned, 49% of Maryland customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 67 min, 63 below the U.S. 129; with major events 133 min against 662.
  • Potomac Electric Power Co (investor owned, 22% of Maryland customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 46 min, 83 below the U.S. 129; with major events 65 min against 662.
  • The Potomac Edison Company (investor owned, 11% of Maryland customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 159 min, 30 above the U.S. 129; with major events 168 min against 662.
  • Delmarva Power (investor owned, 8% of Maryland customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 56 min, 73 below the U.S. 129; with major events 79 min against 662.
  • Southern Maryland Elec Coop Inc (cooperative, 6% of Maryland customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 114 min, 15 below the U.S. 129; with major events 146 min against 662.

Maryland by type of utility

Among Maryland utilities that report under IEEE 1366, municipal utilities average 10 minutes without major events and cooperative utilities 115.

Maryland by type
TypeUtilitiesCustomersSAIDI withoutMedian utilitySAIDI with
Investor Owned42,440,0067261116
Cooperative2234,376115117145
Municipal110,990101010

Next to Maryland in the ranking

Maryland report card

Smart meters: 88% of residential meters, 7 utilities (U.S. 92%). Maryland time-based rates: 5 of 7 utilities, 69.7% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). Maryland efficiency spend: $119.1 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 107 W per customer (U.S. 77). Maryland net-metered systems: 44.1 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.

Is your Maryland utility better or worse than the Maryland median?

  • Loading.

More

8 Maryland filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 7 ranked utilities. Method and sources.

Questions

How many minutes without power did the average Maryland customer have in 2024?

75 minutes without major events and 118 with them (7 IEEE 1366 utilities, customer-weighted).

Why do the two Maryland numbers differ so much?

Major events add 43 of the 118 minutes (36%); Baltimore Gas & Electric Co supplies 56% of the with-events total.

Which Maryland utility reported the fewest and the most minutes?

Among 7 utilities with 10,000+ customers: Easton Utilities Comm 10 minutes without major events, and The Potomac Edison Company 159.

Which Maryland utilities use which method?

7 follow IEEE 1366, 1 uses another method, 13 filed no reliability figures.

Share this page

75 min the average Maryland customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 118 min with them

Cite this page

Underlying data are U.S. government works (EIA, Census Bureau). Our tables and charts: CC BY 4.0, credit Electric Consumer. The access date fills in when you open this page.

APA

Electric Consumer. (2026). Maryland power outages in 2024: 75 minutes a customer, 118 with major events. Data as of 7 October 2026. Retrieved [date accessed], from https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/maryland.html

MLA

Electric Consumer. “Maryland power outages in 2024: 75 minutes a customer, 118 with major events.” Electric Consumer, data as of 7 October 2026, https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/maryland.html. Accessed [date accessed].

Chicago

Electric Consumer. “Maryland power outages in 2024: 75 minutes a customer, 118 with major events.” Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]. https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/maryland.html.

BibTeX

@misc{usedata_reliability_states_maryland,
  author = "Electric Consumer",
  title = {Maryland power outages in 2024: 75 minutes a customer, 118 with major events},
  year = {2026},
  url = {https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/maryland.html},
  note = {Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]}
}
Embed this chart or number

Free to use. No tracking, no scripts. Each embed links back to this site.

Charts on this page (SVG)

Copies a self-contained SVG with the source and a link to this page inside the image.