Electric Consumer

Editor: Katerine G., Editor & Data Researcher · Research & publishing: Electric Consumer Editorial Team · Data retrieved · Sources named on this page: EIA-861 · How we got these numbers · Report an error

How reliable is the power in Connecticut?

74 minthe average Connecticut customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 153 min with them

Connecticut ranks 10th of 45 states without major events and 11th with them (1st = fewest minutes), 56 below the U.S. 129 and 509 below the U.S. 662. Major events added 79 minutes, 52% of the with-events total. The figure covers 1,709,458 customers, 98% of the 1,752,428 EIA lists for Connecticut.

Connecticut with and without major events

minutes without power per customer, 2024, Connecticut and U.S.

  1. 74Connecticut, no major events
  2. 129U.S., no major events
  3. 153Connecticut, with major events
  4. 662U.S., with major events
Connecticut and U.S. reliability measures, 2024
MeasureConnecticut withoutConnecticut withU.S. withoutU.S. with
SAIDI, minutes per customer74153129662
SAIFI, interruptions per customer0.650.881.061.53
CAIDI, minutes per interruption113174122433
Median utility, SAIDI minutes77159——

Which Connecticut utilities move the number

Connecticut Light & Power Co serves 78% of the customers in the Connecticut figure: 81% of lost customer-minutes with major events, 81% without. Without Connecticut Light & Power Co, the weighted figure would be 132 minutes with major events and 62 without, against 153 and 74.

  • Connecticut Light & Power Co: 1,326,461 customers (78%), 77 min without and 159 with; 81% of lost minutes with major events, 81% without.
  • United Illuminating Co: 345,159 customers (20%), 49 min without and 122 with; 16% of lost minutes with major events, 13% without.
  • City of Norwich - (CT): 20,898 customers (1%), 288 min without and 288 with; 2% of lost minutes with major events, 5% without.

All Connecticut utilities in the 2024 file

19 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for Connecticut: 5 follow IEEE 1366, 1 uses another method, 13 filed no reliability figures. 6 are listed.

Connecticut utilities with 2024 reliability figures
Groton Dept of Utilities - (CT)MunicipalIEEE 136614,149221170.190.75811 of 4—
United Illuminating CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366345,159491220.620.79602 of 4—
Connecticut Light & Power CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 13661,326,461771590.650.89523 of 4—
City of Norwich - (CT)MunicipalIEEE 136620,8982882881.451.4504 of 4—
Town of Wallingford - (CT)MunicipalOther method25,100372140.290.81—Not rankedother method, not comparable
Bozrah Light & Power CompanyMunicipalIEEE 13662,7911842780.871.0334Not rankedunder 10,000 customers

CSV, all utilities

Connecticut utilities with no reliability figures

13 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row.

Connecticut, no reliability figures
UtilityTypeCustomers
Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter17,293
Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter9,298
Greenskies Renewable Energy, LLCBehind the Meter29
TerraForm US Energy Services, LLCBehind the Meter6
Greenbacker Renewable Energy CorporationBehind the Meter3
City of Jewett City - (CT)Municipal—
Norwalk Third Taxing DistrictMunicipal—
First Point Power, LLCNot stated—
Texas Retail Energy, LLCNot stated—
Constellation NewEnergy, IncNot stated—
City of South Norwalk - (CT)Municipal—
Mohegan Tribal Utility AuthorityPolitical Subdivision—
BP Energy Retail LLCNot stated—

The biggest Connecticut utilities against the U.S.

  • Connecticut Light & Power Co (investor owned, 75% of Connecticut customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 77 min, 52 below the U.S. 129; with major events 159 min against 662.
  • United Illuminating Co (investor owned, 20% of Connecticut customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 49 min, 80 below the U.S. 129; with major events 122 min against 662.
  • Town of Wallingford - (CT) (municipal, 1% of Connecticut customers in the file): reports on another method, SAIFI 0.81, not compared with the U.S. figure.
  • City of Norwich - (CT) (municipal, 1% of Connecticut customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 288 min, 159 above the U.S. 129; with major events 288 min against 662.
  • Sunrun Inc. (behind the meter, 1% of Connecticut customers in the file): no reliability figures filed.

Connecticut by type of utility

Among Connecticut utilities that report under IEEE 1366, investor owned utilities average 71 minutes without major events and municipal utilities 181.

Connecticut by type
TypeUtilitiesCustomersSAIDI withoutMedian utilitySAIDI with
Investor Owned21,671,6207163151
Municipal337,838181184223

Next to Connecticut in the ranking

Connecticut report card

Smart meters: 92% of residential meters, 3 utilities (U.S. 92%). Connecticut time-based rates: 2 of 5 utilities, 4.7% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). Connecticut efficiency spend: $97.6 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 65 W per customer (U.S. 77). Connecticut net-metered systems: 61.4 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.

Is your Connecticut utility better or worse than the Connecticut median?

  • Loading.

More

6 Connecticut filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 4 ranked utilities. Method and sources.

Questions

How many minutes without power did the average Connecticut customer have in 2024?

74 minutes without major events and 153 with them (5 IEEE 1366 utilities, customer-weighted).

Why do the two Connecticut numbers differ so much?

Major events add 79 of the 153 minutes (52%); Connecticut Light & Power Co supplies 81% of the with-events total.

Which Connecticut utility reported the fewest and the most minutes?

Among 4 utilities with 10,000+ customers: Groton Dept of Utilities - (CT) 22 minutes without major events, and City of Norwich - (CT) 288.

Which Connecticut utilities use which method?

5 follow IEEE 1366, 1 uses another method, 13 filed no reliability figures.

Share this page

74 min the average Connecticut customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 153 min with them

Cite this page

Underlying data are U.S. government works (EIA, Census Bureau). Our tables and charts: CC BY 4.0, credit Electric Consumer. The access date fills in when you open this page.

APA

Electric Consumer. (2026). Connecticut power outages in 2024: 74 minutes a customer, 153 with major events. Data as of 7 October 2026. Retrieved [date accessed], from https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/connecticut.html

MLA

Electric Consumer. “Connecticut power outages in 2024: 74 minutes a customer, 153 with major events.” Electric Consumer, data as of 7 October 2026, https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/connecticut.html. Accessed [date accessed].

Chicago

Electric Consumer. “Connecticut power outages in 2024: 74 minutes a customer, 153 with major events.” Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]. https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/connecticut.html.

BibTeX

@misc{usedata_reliability_states_connecticut,
  author = "Electric Consumer",
  title = {Connecticut power outages in 2024: 74 minutes a customer, 153 with major events},
  year = {2026},
  url = {https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/connecticut.html},
  note = {Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]}
}
Embed this chart or number

Free to use. No tracking, no scripts. Each embed links back to this site.

Charts on this page (SVG)

Copies a self-contained SVG with the source and a link to this page inside the image.