How reliable is the power in District of Columbia?
District of Columbia ranks 1st of 45 states without major events and 1st with them (1st = fewest minutes), 103 below the U.S. 129 and 629 below the U.S. 662. Major events added 6 minutes, 19% of the with-events total. The figure covers 342,495 customers, 99% of the 346,928 EIA lists for District of Columbia.
District of Columbia with and without major events
minutes without power per customer, 2024, District of Columbia and U.S.
- 26District of Columbia, no major events
- 129U.S., no major events
- 33District of Columbia, with major events
- 662U.S., with major events
| Measure | District of Columbia without | District of Columbia with | U.S. without | U.S. with |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAIDI, minutes per customer | 26 | 33 | 129 | 662 |
| SAIFI, interruptions per customer | 0.25 | 0.27 | 1.06 | 1.53 |
| CAIDI, minutes per interruption | 107 | 120 | 122 | 433 |
| Median utility, SAIDI minutes | 26 | 33 | — | — |
Which District of Columbia utilities move the number
Potomac Electric Power Co is the only utility in the District of Columbia figure: 342,495 customers.
All District of Columbia utilities in the 2024 file
7 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for District of Columbia: 1 follows IEEE 1366, 0 use another method, 6 filed no reliability figures. 1 are listed.
| Potomac Electric Power Co | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 342,495 | 26 | 33 | 0.25 | 0.27 | 19 | 1 of 1 | — |
|---|
District of Columbia utilities with no reliability figures
6 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row.
| Utility | Type | Customers |
|---|---|---|
| Tesla Inc. | Behind the Meter | 506 |
| Sunrun Inc. | Behind the Meter | 52 |
| MidAmerican Energy Services, LLC | Not stated | — |
| DC Sustainable Energy Utility | Not stated | — |
| Constellation NewEnergy, Inc | Not stated | — |
| Freepoint Energy Solutions LLC | Not stated | — |
The biggest District of Columbia utilities against the U.S.
- Potomac Electric Power Co (investor owned, 100% of District of Columbia customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 26 min, 103 below the U.S. 129; with major events 33 min against 662.
- Tesla Inc. (behind the meter, 0% of District of Columbia customers in the file): no reliability figures filed.
- Sunrun Inc. (behind the meter, 0% of District of Columbia customers in the file): no reliability figures filed.
Next to District of Columbia in the ranking
District of Columbia report card
Smart meters: 100% of residential meters, 1 utility (U.S. 92%). District of Columbia time-based rates: 0 of 1 utility, 0.0% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). District of Columbia efficiency spend: $30.7 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 58 W per customer (U.S. 77). District of Columbia net-metered systems: 84.7 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.
Is your District of Columbia utility better or worse than the District of Columbia median?
- Loading.
More
- District of Columbia against all states
- District of Columbia utilities among the best and worst
- District of Columbia electricity prices
- District of Columbia help with your bill
1 District of Columbia filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 1 ranked utilities. Method and sources.
Questions
How many minutes without power did the average District of Columbia customer have in 2024?
26 minutes without major events and 33 with them (1 IEEE 1366 utilities, customer-weighted).
Why do the two District of Columbia numbers differ so much?
Major events add 6 of the 33 minutes (19%); Potomac Electric Power Co supplies 100% of the with-events total.
Which District of Columbia utilities use which method?
1 follows IEEE 1366, 0 use another method, 6 filed no reliability figures.