Electric Consumer

Editor: Katerine G., Editor & Data Researcher · Research & publishing: Electric Consumer Editorial Team · Data retrieved · Sources named on this page: EIA-861 · How we got these numbers · Report an error

How reliable is the power in Rhode Island?

61 minthe average Rhode Island customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 104 min with them

Rhode Island ranks 3rd of 45 states without major events and 5th with them (1st = fewest minutes), 69 below the U.S. 129 and 557 below the U.S. 662. Major events added 43 minutes, 42% of the with-events total. The figure covers 509,231 customers, 96% of the 527,553 EIA lists for Rhode Island.

Rhode Island with and without major events

minutes without power per customer, 2024, Rhode Island and U.S.

  1. 61Rhode Island, no major events
  2. 129U.S., no major events
  3. 104Rhode Island, with major events
  4. 662U.S., with major events
Rhode Island and U.S. reliability measures, 2024
MeasureRhode Island withoutRhode Island withU.S. withoutU.S. with
SAIDI, minutes per customer61104129662
SAIFI, interruptions per customer0.760.901.061.53
CAIDI, minutes per interruption80116122433
Median utility, SAIDI minutes61104——

Which Rhode Island utilities move the number

The Narragansett Electric Co is the only utility in the Rhode Island figure: 509,231 customers.

All Rhode Island utilities in the 2024 file

9 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for Rhode Island: 1 follows IEEE 1366, 0 use another method, 8 filed no reliability figures. 1 are listed.

Rhode Island utilities with 2024 reliability figures
The Narragansett Electric CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366509,231611040.760.90421 of 1—

CSV, all utilities

Rhode Island utilities with no reliability figures

8 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row.

Rhode Island, no reliability figures
UtilityTypeCustomers
Pascoag Utility DistrictMunicipal4,984
Sunrun Inc.Behind the Meter3,252
Block Island Utility DistrictPolitical Subdivision2,013
Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter309
Greenbacker Renewable Energy CorporationBehind the Meter1
Constellation NewEnergy, IncNot stated—
BP Energy Retail LLCNot stated—
First Point Power, LLCNot stated—

The biggest Rhode Island utilities against the U.S.

  • The Narragansett Electric Co (investor owned, 98% of Rhode Island customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 61 min, 69 below the U.S. 129; with major events 104 min against 662.
  • Pascoag Utility District (municipal, 1% of Rhode Island customers in the file): no reliability figures filed.
  • Sunrun Inc. (behind the meter, 1% of Rhode Island customers in the file): no reliability figures filed.
  • Block Island Utility District (political subdivision, 0% of Rhode Island customers in the file): no reliability figures filed.
  • Tesla Inc. (behind the meter, 0% of Rhode Island customers in the file): no reliability figures filed.

Next to Rhode Island in the ranking

Rhode Island report card

Smart meters: 0% of residential meters, 1 utility (U.S. 92%). Rhode Island time-based rates: 0 of 1 utility, 0.0% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). Rhode Island efficiency spend: $154.2 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 0 W per customer (U.S. 77). Rhode Island net-metered systems: 34.1 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.

Is your Rhode Island utility better or worse than the Rhode Island median?

  • Loading.

More

1 Rhode Island filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 1 ranked utilities. Method and sources.

Questions

How many minutes without power did the average Rhode Island customer have in 2024?

61 minutes without major events and 104 with them (1 IEEE 1366 utilities, customer-weighted).

Why do the two Rhode Island numbers differ so much?

Major events add 43 of the 104 minutes (42%); The Narragansett Electric Co supplies 100% of the with-events total.

Which Rhode Island utilities use which method?

1 follows IEEE 1366, 0 use another method, 8 filed no reliability figures.

Share this page

61 min the average Rhode Island customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 104 min with them

Cite this page

Underlying data are U.S. government works (EIA, Census Bureau). Our tables and charts: CC BY 4.0, credit Electric Consumer. The access date fills in when you open this page.

APA

Electric Consumer. (2026). Rhode Island power outages in 2024: 61 minutes a customer, 104 with major events. Data as of 7 October 2026. Retrieved [date accessed], from https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/rhode-island.html

MLA

Electric Consumer. “Rhode Island power outages in 2024: 61 minutes a customer, 104 with major events.” Electric Consumer, data as of 7 October 2026, https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/rhode-island.html. Accessed [date accessed].

Chicago

Electric Consumer. “Rhode Island power outages in 2024: 61 minutes a customer, 104 with major events.” Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]. https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/rhode-island.html.

BibTeX

@misc{usedata_reliability_states_rhode_island,
  author = "Electric Consumer",
  title = {Rhode Island power outages in 2024: 61 minutes a customer, 104 with major events},
  year = {2026},
  url = {https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/rhode-island.html},
  note = {Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]}
}
Embed this chart or number

Free to use. No tracking, no scripts. Each embed links back to this site.

Charts on this page (SVG)

Copies a self-contained SVG with the source and a link to this page inside the image.