How reliable is the power in Illinois?
Illinois ranks 2nd of 45 states without major events and 13th with them (1st = fewest minutes), 70 below the U.S. 129 and 502 below the U.S. 662. Major events added 101 minutes, 63% of the with-events total. The figure covers 5,745,733 customers, 97% of the 5,896,571 EIA lists for Illinois.
Illinois with and without major events
minutes without power per customer, 2024, Illinois and U.S.
- 59Illinois, no major events
- 129U.S., no major events
- 160Illinois, with major events
- 662U.S., with major events
| Measure | Illinois without | Illinois with | U.S. without | U.S. with |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAIDI, minutes per customer | 59 | 160 | 129 | 662 |
| SAIFI, interruptions per customer | 0.64 | 0.85 | 1.06 | 1.53 |
| CAIDI, minutes per interruption | 93 | 188 | 122 | 433 |
| Median utility, SAIDI minutes | 113 | 196 | — | — |
Which Illinois utilities move the number
Commonwealth Edison Co serves 74% of the customers in the Illinois figure: 61% of lost customer-minutes with major events, 44% without. Without Commonwealth Edison Co, the weighted figure would be 237 minutes with major events and 124 without, against 160 and 59.
- Commonwealth Edison Co: 4,229,904 customers (74%), 36 min without and 132 with; 61% of lost minutes with major events, 44% without.
- Ameren Illinois Company: 1,249,900 customers (22%), 121 min without and 224 with; 30% of lost minutes with major events, 44% without.
- MidAmerican Energy Co: 85,293 customers (1%), 174 min without and 352 with; 3% of lost minutes with major events, 4% without.
All Illinois utilities in the 2024 file
81 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for Illinois: 16 follow IEEE 1366, 3 use another method, 62 filed no reliability figures. 19 are listed.
| Rock Energy Cooperative | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 10,558 | 16 | 18 | 0.34 | 0.41 | 10 | 1 of 13 | — |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commonwealth Edison Co | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 4,229,904 | 36 | 132 | 0.49 | 0.68 | 73 | 2 of 13 | — |
| City of Batavia - (IL) | Municipal | IEEE 1366 | 10,737 | 41 | 46 | 0.39 | 0.72 | 13 | 3 of 13 | — |
| Jo-Carroll Energy, Inc | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 20,356 | 49 | 67 | 0.42 | 0.53 | 27 | 4 of 13 | — |
| Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (IL) | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 16,708 | 64 | 372 | 0.73 | 2.50 | 83 | 5 of 13 | — |
| City of Geneva- (IL) | Municipal | IEEE 1366 | 10,153 | 83 | 196 | 0.64 | 1.84 | 58 | 6 of 13 | — |
| Menard Electric Coop | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 11,141 | 113 | 169 | 1.27 | 1.49 | 33 | 7 of 13 | — |
| Ameren Illinois Company | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 1,249,900 | 121 | 224 | 0.91 | 1.13 | 46 | 8 of 13 | — |
| Southeastern IL Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 25,005 | 138 | 603 | 1.50 | 3.07 | 77 | 9 of 13 | — |
| Corn Belt Energy Corporation | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 37,191 | 152 | 312 | 4.68 | 5.21 | 51 | 10 of 13 | — |
| MidAmerican Energy Co | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 85,293 | 174 | 352 | 1.43 | 1.80 | 51 | 11 of 13 | — |
| Eastern Illinois Elec Coop | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 13,503 | 194 | 268 | 1.75 | 2.18 | 27 | 12 of 13 | — |
| Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 25,284 | 263 | 305 | 1.78 | 2.21 | 14 | 13 of 13 | — |
| City of Springfield - (IL) | Municipal | Other method | 69,548 | 83 | 83 | 1.09 | 1.09 | — | Not ranked | other method, not comparable |
| City of Naperville - (IL) | Municipal | IEEE 1366 | 62,990 | — | 25 | — | 0.50 | — | Not ranked | — |
| City of St Charles - (IL) | Municipal | Other method | 16,934 | 60 | 77 | 0.38 | 0.56 | — | Not ranked | other method, not comparable |
| Egyptian Electric Coop Assn | Cooperative | IEEE 1366 | 15,824 | — | 127 | — | — | — | Not ranked | — |
| Rochelle Municipal Utilities | Municipal | IEEE 1366 | 7,347 | — | 22 | — | 0.53 | — | Not ranked | under 10,000 customers |
| Mt Carmel Public Utility Co | Investor Owned | Other method | 5,282 | 87 | 111 | 2.60 | 3.28 | — | Not ranked | other method, not comparable; under 10,000 customers |
Illinois utilities with no reliability figures
62 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row; the 25 largest are listed.
| Utility | Type | Customers |
|---|---|---|
| Sunrun Inc. | Behind the Meter | 31,729 |
| Norris Electric Coop | Cooperative | 20,300 |
| Wayne-White Counties Elec Coop | Cooperative | 13,654 |
| Shelby Electric Coop, Inc - (IL) | Cooperative | 10,054 |
| Coles-Moultrie Electric Coop | Cooperative | 9,576 |
| City of Peru - (IL) | Municipal | 6,161 |
| Scenic Rivers Energy Coop | Cooperative | 12 |
| Tesla Inc. | Behind the Meter | 4 |
| Village of Winnetka - (IL) | Not stated | — |
| Illinois Rural Electric Coop | Cooperative | — |
| McDonough Power Coop | Cooperative | — |
| Monroe County Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | — |
| Texas Retail Energy, LLC | Not stated | — |
| City of Geneseo - (IL) | Municipal | — |
| Wabash Valley Power Assn, Inc | Not stated | — |
| Constellation NewEnergy, Inc | Not stated | — |
| City of Carmi - (IL) | Municipal | — |
| Illinois Municipal Elec Agency | Not stated | — |
| Village of Greenup - (IL) | Municipal | — |
| Freepoint Energy Solutions LLC | Not stated | — |
| University of Illinois | State | — |
| City of McLeansboro - (IL) | Municipal | — |
| City of Roodhouse - (IL) | Municipal | — |
| City of Casey - (IL) | Municipal | — |
| City of Breese - (IL) | Municipal | — |
The biggest Illinois utilities against the U.S.
- Commonwealth Edison Co (investor owned, 70% of Illinois customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 36 min, 94 below the U.S. 129; with major events 132 min against 662.
- Ameren Illinois Company (investor owned, 21% of Illinois customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 121 min, 9 below the U.S. 129; with major events 224 min against 662.
- MidAmerican Energy Co (investor owned, 1% of Illinois customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 174 min, 45 above the U.S. 129; with major events 352 min against 662.
- City of Springfield - (IL) (municipal, 1% of Illinois customers in the file): reports on another method, SAIFI 1.09, not compared with the U.S. figure.
- City of Naperville - (IL) (municipal, 1% of Illinois customers in the file): IEEE 1366 filer with no complete pair of figures.
Illinois by type of utility
Among Illinois utilities that report under IEEE 1366, investor owned utilities average 57 minutes without major events and cooperative utilities 137.
| Type | Utilities | Customers | SAIDI without | Median utility | SAIDI with |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investor Owned | 3 | 5,565,097 | 57 | 121 | 156 |
| Cooperative | 8 | 159,746 | 137 | 125 | 298 |
| Municipal | 2 | 20,890 | 61 | 62 | 119 |
Next to Illinois in the ranking
Illinois report card
Smart meters: 100% of residential meters, 13 utilities (U.S. 92%). Illinois time-based rates: 6 of 16 utilities, 10.0% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). Illinois efficiency spend: $89.0 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 23 W per customer (U.S. 77). Illinois net-metered systems: 25.6 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.
Is your Illinois utility better or worse than the Illinois median?
- Loading.
More
- Illinois against all states
- Illinois utilities among the best and worst
- Illinois utility reliability and price by company
- Illinois major outage reports from the Department of Energy
- Illinois electricity prices
- Illinois help with your bill
19 Illinois filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 13 ranked utilities. Method and sources.
Questions
How many minutes without power did the average Illinois customer have in 2024?
59 minutes without major events and 160 with them (16 IEEE 1366 utilities, customer-weighted).
Why do the two Illinois numbers differ so much?
Major events add 101 of the 160 minutes (63%); Commonwealth Edison Co supplies 61% of the with-events total.
Which Illinois utility reported the fewest and the most minutes?
Among 13 utilities with 10,000+ customers: Rock Energy Cooperative 16 minutes without major events, and Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) 263.
Which Illinois utilities use which method?
16 follow IEEE 1366, 3 use another method, 62 filed no reliability figures.