Electric Consumer

Editor: Katerine G., Editor & Data Researcher · Research & publishing: Electric Consumer Editorial Team · Data retrieved · Sources named on this page: EIA-861 · How we got these numbers · Report an error

How reliable is the power in Ohio?

133 minthe average Ohio customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 513 min with them

Ohio ranks 28th of 45 states without major events and 30th with them (1st = fewest minutes), 4 above the U.S. 129 and 149 below the U.S. 662. Major events added 380 minutes, 74% of the with-events total. The figure covers 5,556,401 customers, 100% of the 5,583,306 EIA lists for Ohio.

Ohio with and without major events

minutes without power per customer, 2024, Ohio and U.S.

  1. 133Ohio, no major events
  2. 129U.S., no major events
  3. 513Ohio, with major events
  4. 662U.S., with major events
Ohio and U.S. reliability measures, 2024
MeasureOhio withoutOhio withU.S. withoutU.S. with
SAIDI, minutes per customer133513129662
SAIFI, interruptions per customer1.001.301.061.53
CAIDI, minutes per interruption134395122433
Median utility, SAIDI minutes95238——

Which Ohio utilities move the number

Cleveland Electric Illum Co serves 13% of the customers in the Ohio figure: 50% of lost customer-minutes with major events, 15% without. Without Cleveland Electric Illum Co, the weighted figure would be 295 minutes with major events and 131 without, against 513 and 133.

  • Cleveland Electric Illum Co: 744,898 customers (13%), 150 min without and 1,918 with; 50% of lost minutes with major events, 15% without.
  • Ohio Power Co: 1,535,393 customers (28%), 158 min without and 272 with; 15% of lost minutes with major events, 33% without.
  • Dayton Power & Light Co: 613,948 customers (11%), 106 min without and 503 with; 11% of lost minutes with major events, 9% without.

All Ohio utilities in the 2024 file

90 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for Ohio: 30 follow IEEE 1366, 1 uses another method, 59 filed no reliability figures. 31 are listed.

Ohio utilities with 2024 reliability figures
City of Bowling Green - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136614,9528210.080.15631 of 26—
City of Westerville - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136618,01221570.350.85632 of 26—
City of Piqua - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136610,83326260.930.9303 of 26—
Hancock-Wood Electric Coop IncCooperativeIEEE 136613,52335800.630.93564 of 26—
City of Cuyahoga Falls - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136626,78344760.500.76425 of 26—
City of PainesvilleMunicipalIEEE 136612,614523480.511.51856 of 26—
City of Wadsworth - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136613,81354540.390.3907 of 26—
Union Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperativeIEEE 136612,320592600.482.11778 of 26—
Butler Rural Electric Coop Inc - (OH)CooperativeIEEE 136611,780612271.702.06739 of 26—
Consolidated CooperativeCooperativeIEEE 136619,176873540.931.237510 of 26—
Midwest Electric, Inc - (OH)CooperativeIEEE 136611,221882931.011.777011 of 26—
City of Hamilton - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136629,89190901.711.71012 of 26—
Pioneer Rural Elec Coop, Inc - (OH)CooperativeIEEE 136617,751941271.051.252613 of 26—
The Toledo Edison CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366312,806951210.941.032114 of 26—
Duke Energy Ohio IncInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366760,4411033210.801.046815 of 26—
Dayton Power & Light CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366613,9481065030.871.267916 of 26—
Licking Rural Electric IncCooperativeIEEE 136627,7291132421.041.645317 of 26—
Ohio Edison CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 13661,067,0911142341.031.285118 of 26—
Cleveland Electric Illum CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 1366744,8981501,9181.111.789219 of 26—
Ohio Power CoInvestor OwnedIEEE 13661,535,3931582720.991.134220 of 26—
City of Cleveland - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136673,6661701701.081.08021 of 26—
Holmes-Wayne Electric Coop IncCooperativeIEEE 136618,0451781781.501.51022 of 26—
South Central Power CompanyCooperativeIEEE 1366126,1482013201.692.523723 of 26—
City of Columbus - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 136619,1112452452.172.17024 of 26—
Guernsey-Muskingum El Coop IncCooperativeIEEE 136617,3564854942.642.68225 of 26—
Buckeye Rural Elec Coop, IncCooperativeIEEE 136618,8631,1592,9133.044.176026 of 26—
Lorain-Medina R E C, IncCooperativeIEEE 136616,831158159———Not ranked—
North Central Elec Coop, Inc - (OH)CooperativeIEEE 13669,7456265———Not rankedunder 10,000 customers
City of Dover - (OH)MunicipalIEEE 13667,15681090.090.8393Not rankedunder 10,000 customers
City of Orrville - (OH)MunicipalOther method7,11452960.591.05—Not rankedother method, not comparable; under 10,000 customers
Midwest Energy Cooperative - (MI)CooperativeIEEE 13661,0812792791.101.100Not rankedunder 10,000 customers

CSV, all utilities

Ohio utilities with no reliability figures

59 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row; the 25 largest are listed.

Ohio, no reliability figures
UtilityTypeCustomers
City of Niles - (OH)Municipal12,815
City of Lebanon - (OH)Municipal9,824
Paulding-Putman Elec Coop, IncCooperative9,678
City of Celina - (OH)Municipal8,468
Clyde Light & PowerMunicipal3,132
Tesla Inc.Behind the Meter18
Ohio Valley Electric CorpInvestor Owned1
Adams Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperative—
Village of Arcadia - (OH)Municipal—
Darke Rural Electric Coop, IncCooperative—
City of Woodsfield - (OH)Municipal—
City of Oberlin - (OH)Municipal—
City of St Clairsville - (OH)Municipal—
Village of Glouster - (OH)Municipal—
City of Tipp City - (OH)Municipal—
MidAmerican Energy Services, LLCNot stated—
Village of Tontogany - (OH)Municipal—
BP Energy Retail LLCNot stated—
NextEra Energy Services, LLCNot stated—
Village of Republic - (OH)Municipal—
Seville Board of Public AffairsMunicipal—
Washington Electric Coop - (OH)Cooperative—
City of Wapakoneta - (OH)Municipal—
Constellation NewEnergy, IncNot stated—
City of Mendon - (OH)Municipal—

The biggest Ohio utilities against the U.S.

  • Ohio Power Co (investor owned, 27% of Ohio customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 158 min, 29 above the U.S. 129; with major events 272 min against 662.
  • Ohio Edison Co (investor owned, 19% of Ohio customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 114 min, 15 below the U.S. 129; with major events 234 min against 662.
  • Duke Energy Ohio Inc (investor owned, 14% of Ohio customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 103 min, 27 below the U.S. 129; with major events 321 min against 662.
  • Cleveland Electric Illum Co (investor owned, 14% of Ohio customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 150 min, 21 above the U.S. 129; with major events 1918 min against 662.
  • Dayton Power & Light Co (investor owned, 10% of Ohio customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 106 min, 23 below the U.S. 129; with major events 503 min against 662.

Ohio by type of utility

Among Ohio utilities that report under IEEE 1366, municipal utilities average 103 minutes without major events and cooperative utilities 232.

Ohio by type
TypeUtilitiesCustomersSAIDI withoutMedian utilitySAIDI with
Investor Owned65,034,577129110534
Cooperative12294,993232104452
Municipal10226,83110348130

Next to Ohio in the ranking

Ohio report card

Smart meters: 64% of residential meters, 24 utilities (U.S. 92%). Ohio time-based rates: 9 of 27 utilities, 0.6% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). Ohio efficiency spend: $3.3 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 120 W per customer (U.S. 77). Ohio net-metered systems: 5.3 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.

Is your Ohio utility better or worse than the Ohio median?

  • Loading.

More

31 Ohio filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 26 ranked utilities. Method and sources.

Questions

How many minutes without power did the average Ohio customer have in 2024?

133 minutes without major events and 513 with them (30 IEEE 1366 utilities, customer-weighted).

Why do the two Ohio numbers differ so much?

Major events add 380 of the 513 minutes (74%); Cleveland Electric Illum Co supplies 50% of the with-events total.

Which Ohio utility reported the fewest and the most minutes?

Among 26 utilities with 10,000+ customers: City of Bowling Green - (OH) 8 minutes without major events, and Buckeye Rural Elec Coop, Inc 1159.

Which Ohio utilities use which method?

30 follow IEEE 1366, 1 uses another method, 59 filed no reliability figures.

Share this page

133 min the average Ohio customer was without power in 2024, major events excluded; 513 min with them

Cite this page

Underlying data are U.S. government works (EIA, Census Bureau). Our tables and charts: CC BY 4.0, credit Electric Consumer. The access date fills in when you open this page.

APA

Electric Consumer. (2026). Ohio power outages in 2024: 133 minutes a customer, 513 with major events. Data as of 7 October 2026. Retrieved [date accessed], from https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/ohio.html

MLA

Electric Consumer. “Ohio power outages in 2024: 133 minutes a customer, 513 with major events.” Electric Consumer, data as of 7 October 2026, https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/ohio.html. Accessed [date accessed].

Chicago

Electric Consumer. “Ohio power outages in 2024: 133 minutes a customer, 513 with major events.” Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]. https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/ohio.html.

BibTeX

@misc{usedata_reliability_states_ohio,
  author = "Electric Consumer",
  title = {Ohio power outages in 2024: 133 minutes a customer, 513 with major events},
  year = {2026},
  url = {https://electricconsumer.org/reliability/states/ohio.html},
  note = {Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]}
}
Embed this chart or number

Free to use. No tracking, no scripts. Each embed links back to this site.

Charts on this page (SVG)

Copies a self-contained SVG with the source and a link to this page inside the image.