How reliable is the power in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania ranks 27th of 45 states without major events and 28th with them (1st = fewest minutes), 2 above the U.S. 129 and 308 below the U.S. 662. Major events added 222 minutes, 63% of the with-events total. The figure covers 5,309,442 customers, 86% of the 6,198,102 EIA lists for Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania with and without major events
minutes without power per customer, 2024, Pennsylvania and U.S.
- 132Pennsylvania, no major events
- 129U.S., no major events
- 353Pennsylvania, with major events
- 662U.S., with major events
| Measure | Pennsylvania without | Pennsylvania with | U.S. without | U.S. with |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAIDI, minutes per customer | 132 | 353 | 129 | 662 |
| SAIFI, interruptions per customer | 0.99 | 1.39 | 1.06 | 1.53 |
| CAIDI, minutes per interruption | 133 | 253 | 122 | 433 |
| Median utility, SAIDI minutes | 90 | 212 | — | — |
Which Pennsylvania utilities move the number
FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co serves 39% of the customers in the Pennsylvania figure: 45% of lost customer-minutes with major events, 66% without. Without FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co, the weighted figure would be 321 minutes with major events and 74 without, against 353 and 132.
- FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co: 2,076,402 customers (39%), 221 min without and 403 with; 45% of lost minutes with major events, 66% without.
- PPL Electric Utilities Corp: 1,470,255 customers (28%), 90 min without and 455 with; 36% of lost minutes with major events, 19% without.
- PECO Energy Co: 1,688,261 customers (32%), 60 min without and 212 with; 19% of lost minutes with major events, 15% without.
All Pennsylvania utilities in the 2024 file
55 utilities in the 2024 EIA-861 files for Pennsylvania: 5 follow IEEE 1366, 4 use another method, 46 filed no reliability figures. 9 are listed.
| Borough of Chambersburg | Municipal | IEEE 1366 | 11,890 | 18 | 18 | 0.51 | 0.51 | 0 | 1 of 5 | — |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PECO Energy Co | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 1,688,261 | 60 | 212 | 0.67 | 0.97 | 72 | 2 of 5 | — |
| PPL Electric Utilities Corp | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 1,470,255 | 90 | 455 | 0.66 | 1.25 | 80 | 3 of 5 | — |
| UGI Utilities, Inc | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 62,634 | 99 | 182 | 0.95 | 1.16 | 46 | 4 of 5 | — |
| FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co | Investor Owned | IEEE 1366 | 2,076,402 | 221 | 403 | 1.49 | 1.85 | 45 | 5 of 5 | — |
| Duquesne Light Co | Investor Owned | Other method | 613,818 | 127 | 188 | 0.82 | 0.99 | — | Not ranked | other method, not comparable |
| Citizens Electric Co - (PA) | Investor Owned | Other method | 7,220 | 64 | 87 | 0.45 | 0.98 | — | Not ranked | other method, not comparable; under 10,000 customers |
| Wellsborough Electric Co | Investor Owned | Other method | 6,472 | 102 | 804 | 0.99 | 4.12 | — | Not ranked | other method, not comparable; under 10,000 customers |
| Pike County Light & Power Co | Investor Owned | Other method | 5,318 | 160 | 232 | 0.85 | 1.21 | — | Not ranked | other method, not comparable; under 10,000 customers |
Pennsylvania utilities with no reliability figures
46 in the sales file, no SAIDI or SAIFI row; the 25 largest are listed.
| Utility | Type | Customers |
|---|---|---|
| Adams Electric Cooperative Inc | Cooperative | 34,534 |
| Central Electric Coop, Inc - (PA) | Cooperative | 25,604 |
| REA Energy Coop Inc | Cooperative | 22,836 |
| Valley Rural Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 22,585 |
| Northwestern Rural E C A, Inc - (PA) | Cooperative | 19,621 |
| Tri-County Rural Elec Coop Inc (PA) | Cooperative | 19,562 |
| Claverack Rural Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 19,111 |
| Somerset Rural Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 13,903 |
| Bedford Rural Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 9,582 |
| Tesla Inc. | Behind the Meter | 6,964 |
| Sunrun Inc. | Behind the Meter | 5,072 |
| Philadelphia Authority for Industrial Development | Municipal | 202 |
| TerraForm US Energy Services, LLC | Behind the Meter | 18 |
| Greenskies Renewable Energy, LLC | Behind the Meter | 1 |
| Sullivan County R E C, Inc - (PA) | Cooperative | — |
| Borough of Lansdale | Municipal | — |
| Borough of Grove City - (PA) | Municipal | — |
| Borough of St Clair - (PA) | Municipal | — |
| Mont Alto Borough | Municipal | — |
| Borough of Berlin - (PA) | Municipal | — |
| Texas Retail Energy, LLC | Not stated | — |
| Constellation NewEnergy, Inc | Not stated | — |
| Borough of Summerhill - (PA) | Municipal | — |
| Borough of Kutztown - (PA) | Municipal | — |
| Borough of New Wilmington - (PA) | Municipal | — |
The biggest Pennsylvania utilities against the U.S.
- FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co (investor owned, 34% of Pennsylvania customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 221 min, 91 above the U.S. 129; with major events 403 min against 662.
- PECO Energy Co (investor owned, 28% of Pennsylvania customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 60 min, 69 below the U.S. 129; with major events 212 min against 662.
- PPL Electric Utilities Corp (investor owned, 24% of Pennsylvania customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 90 min, 39 below the U.S. 129; with major events 455 min against 662.
- Duquesne Light Co (investor owned, 10% of Pennsylvania customers in the file): reports on another method, SAIFI 0.99, not compared with the U.S. figure.
- UGI Utilities, Inc (investor owned, 1% of Pennsylvania customers in the file): SAIDI without major events 99 min, 30 below the U.S. 129; with major events 182 min against 662.
Pennsylvania by type of utility
Among Pennsylvania utilities that report under IEEE 1366, municipal utilities average 18 minutes without major events and investor owned utilities 132.
| Type | Utilities | Customers | SAIDI without | Median utility | SAIDI with |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Investor Owned | 4 | 5,297,552 | 132 | 95 | 354 |
| Municipal | 1 | 11,890 | 18 | 18 | 18 |
Next to Pennsylvania in the ranking
Pennsylvania report card
Smart meters: 99% of residential meters, 14 utilities (U.S. 92%). Pennsylvania time-based rates: 4 of 13 utilities, 0.1% of residential customers enrolled (U.S. 10.6%). Pennsylvania efficiency spend: $39.6 per customer (U.S. $124.2). Demand response: 7 W per customer (U.S. 77). Pennsylvania net-metered systems: 13.7 per 1,000 customers. Rankings.
Is your Pennsylvania utility better or worse than the Pennsylvania median?
- Loading.
More
- Pennsylvania against all states
- Pennsylvania utilities among the best and worst
- Pennsylvania utility reliability and price by company
- Pennsylvania major outage reports from the Department of Energy
- Pennsylvania electricity prices
- Pennsylvania help with your bill
9 Pennsylvania filings in EIA-861 2024 (retrieved 2026-10-01), 5 ranked utilities. Method and sources.
Questions
How many minutes without power did the average Pennsylvania customer have in 2024?
132 minutes without major events and 353 with them (5 IEEE 1366 utilities, customer-weighted).
Why do the two Pennsylvania numbers differ so much?
Major events add 222 of the 353 minutes (63%); FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co supplies 45% of the with-events total.
Which Pennsylvania utility reported the fewest and the most minutes?
Among 5 utilities with 10,000+ customers: Borough of Chambersburg 18 minutes without major events, and FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co 221.
Which Pennsylvania utilities use which method?
5 follow IEEE 1366, 4 use another method, 46 filed no reliability figures.