Electric Consumer

Editor: Katerine G., Editor & Data Researcher · Research & publishing: Electric Consumer Editorial Team · Data retrieved · Sources named on this page: HHS LIHEAP · How we got these numbers · Report an error

Electric disconnections in Washington, 2024

3.7electric disconnections for nonpayment per 100 residential accounts in Washington, 2024

Washington ranks 33rd of 51, 1st being the highest rate. The Washington total is 122,752 disconnections on about 3,323,267 accounts, 5.7 per 100 below the U.S. rate of 9.4. It also counts 927,136 final-notice events. Events, not homes: an account cut off twice counts twice.

Washington month by month

Washington: April peaked at 12,384 disconnections, November bottomed at 6,235. Per 100 Washington accounts the monthly rate ran from 0.19 (November) to 0.37 (April). Washington averaged 0.32 a month in December to February and 0.29 in June to August: nearly level.

Washington disconnections per month, 2024

  1. 11.4kJan
  2. 10.5kFeb
  3. 10.5kMar
  4. 12.4kApr
  5. 11.8kMay
  6. 10.7kJun
  7. 9.7kJul
  8. 8.6kAug
  9. 9.7kSep
  10. 11.1kOct
  11. 6.2kNov
  12. 10.0kDec
Washington electric final notices, disconnections and reconnections by month, 2024
MonthWashington final noticesWashington disconnectionsWashington reconnectionsWashington accountsWashington per 100
January86,84111,42110,6763,306,9720.35
February76,98810,5129,5153,309,4510.32
March82,32010,5089,6933,316,5990.32
April80,29112,38411,1583,312,0950.37
May80,03111,78710,7523,315,4160.36
June81,53510,6899,6913,320,2590.32
July80,3869,7079,0623,324,5850.29
August72,9268,6357,8983,329,5410.26
September69,4149,7488,8863,330,7500.29
October68,41411,10710,1203,334,6510.33
November70,9016,2355,8493,337,9450.19
December77,08910,0189,4783,340,9440.30
Year927,136122,752112,7783,323,267 (mean)3.69 (yearly)

Scale Washington to your town

    Statewide rate for Washington: 3.69 per 100. A single utility can sit far from it.

    Washington utilities that reported

    Washington: 34 utilities reported. They sum to 116,826 of the 122,752 disconnections in the state total; City of Tacoma - (WA) alone reported 37,882 (31%).

    32 Washington utilities have 5,000+ accounts and twelve months of data. Their rates run from 0.2 (PUD No 1 of Klickitat County) to 25.7 (Lakeview Light & Power) per 100.

    Largest 10 Washington reporting utilities by disconnections
    Washington utilityDisconnectionsAvg accountsPer 100Final noticesReconnectionsMonths
    City of Tacoma - (WA)37,882175,58221.6156,97537,64012 of 12
    City of Seattle - (WA)14,406424,0793.469,61014,08212 of 12
    Avista Corp11,285252,5754.563,6399,46112 of 12
    PUD No 1 of Cowlitz County7,77448,26716.117,2457,72212 of 12
    Puget Sound Energy Inc7,5321,091,5990.785,3155,19912 of 12
    PUD 1 of Snohomish County6,658339,9102.010,6066,57012 of 12
    PUD No 1 of Benton County3,62748,2637.542,6483,28912 of 12
    PUD No 1 of Franklin County2,85729,0259.859,1742,74412 of 12
    Lakeview Light & Power2,68410,45725.79,7752,43712 of 12
    Elmhurst Mutual Power & Light Co2,53816,15915.719,7902,39312 of 12

    All utilities, CSV

    Washington against its neighbours

    Washington sits in the Pacific division. Its 4 division peers average 3.4 per 100; the highest is Oregon at 4.5 and the lowest Alaska at 2.5. Washington is 0.3 above the division average.

    States bordering Washington, electric disconnections per 100 accounts 2024
    Washington bordersRank of 51Per 100Gap to WashingtonTimes WashingtonFinal notices per 100
    Idaho20th6.3+2.61.71x26.1
    Oregon30th4.5+0.91.23x42.3

    Closest in the ranking to Washington: Connecticut 4.3, Wisconsin 4.2, North Dakota 3.7, Illinois 3.6.

    How firm the Washington number is

    Washington response rate: 96.8% weighted by size, 89.5% by count. Utilities reported 116,826; EIA's adjustment is +5,926 (+4.8% of 122,752). Largest monthly relative standard error, Washington: 7.5%. EIA flags no Washington month. Flag codes and method.

    Shutoff rule read for Washington

    Washington shutoff rule, as read
    Washington ruleWhat the text says
    Cold weatherWAC 480-100-143: between November 15 and March 15 an electric utility may not discontinue residential space heating service if the customer notifies of inability to pay, self-certifies household income through a state-funded grantee, applies for energy assistance and weatherization, and agrees to pay by the next October 15 and pay monthly at no more than seven percent of monthly income plus one-twelfth of billings.
    Hot weatherno hot-weather ban found in the text read, except 128(11) tariff provision on inclement weather events
    Protected customers128(8): medical condition or emergency: postpone or reinstate for a five-business-day grace period on verbal or written notice; utility may require written certification from a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or PA within five business days; valid up to 60 days unless renewed; customer may be required to pay 10% of balance and agree to pay the rest within 120 days.
    Notice before disconnection128(4): two separate notices: first in writing (mail or door) at least eight business days before disconnection (11 days if mailed from outside WA/OR/ID); second at least two business days before by door delivery, mailed 3 business days before, or two phone attempts; includes energy assistance info, and between Nov 15 and Mar 15 the winter payment plan.
    Payment plansWAC 480-100-143 plan as above (seven percent of income); WAC 480-100-138 payment arrangements referenced but not read.
    ComplaintsNot stated in the text read (UTC).

    Read: WAC 480-100-143 (winter) and WAC 480-100-128 (disconnection), checked 2026-10-02. Electric utilities regulated by the UTC (chapter 480-100); the text says 'an electric utility'; co-ops/munis not addressed.

    Not legal advice; check your Washington notice.

    Help in Washington

    Washington LIHEAP eligibility as listed: Heating & Crisis: 150% Federal Poverty Level Weatherization: 200% Federal Poverty Level.

    Washington benefits as listed: Heating: $250 minimum, $1,250 maximum Crisis: $13,000 maximum Weatherization: $20,000 maximum.

    Programs named for Washington: Tacoma Public Utilities; Seattle City Light; AVISTA Utilities.

    What this means for you in Washington

    • Washington had 927,136 final notices and 122,752 disconnections: 13 disconnections per 100 notices. A notice is not a disconnection.
    • Washington reconnections ran at 92 per 100 disconnections. The data give no time to restore.
    • Cold-weather rule in Washington, as we read it: WAC 480-100-143: between November 15 and March 15 an electric utility may not discontinue residential space heating service if the customer notifies of inability to pay, self-certifies household income through a state-funded ... April was the busiest Washington month by count.
    • To contest a Washington notice: Not stated in the text read (UTC).
    • Cannot pay in full? Ask your Washington utility for a payment plan, then the LIHEAP office above.

    More

    Sources

    Form EIA-112, Residential Utility Disconnection Survey, calendar year 2024, EIA release page (released 2026-04-14, file retrieved 2026-10-07). Utility file: electric utility-level workbook; report: 2024 Residential Utility Disconnections Report. Monthly CSV

    Questions

    How many electric disconnections were there in Washington in 2024?

    122,752 in Washington, of which utilities reported 116,826. That is 3.7 per 100 accounts, 33rd of 51.

    Does 3.7 per 100 mean 4% of Washington homes lost service?

    No. The 122,752 Washington disconnections are events; a home cut off twice counts twice. EIA gives no count of distinct Washington homes.

    Which month had the most disconnections in Washington?

    April, with 12,384. November had 6,235.

    How many Washington utilities have a yearly rate?

    34 of 34.

    Share this page

    3.7 electric disconnections for nonpayment per 100 residential accounts in Washington, 2024

    Cite this page

    Underlying data are U.S. government works (EIA, Census Bureau). Our tables and charts: CC BY 4.0, credit Electric Consumer. The access date fills in when you open this page.

    APA

    Electric Consumer. (2026). Washington electric disconnections: 3.7 per 100 accounts in 2024. Data as of 7 October 2026. Retrieved [date accessed], from https://electricconsumer.org/shutoffs/states/washington.html

    MLA

    Electric Consumer. “Washington electric disconnections: 3.7 per 100 accounts in 2024.” Electric Consumer, data as of 7 October 2026, https://electricconsumer.org/shutoffs/states/washington.html. Accessed [date accessed].

    Chicago

    Electric Consumer. “Washington electric disconnections: 3.7 per 100 accounts in 2024.” Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]. https://electricconsumer.org/shutoffs/states/washington.html.

    BibTeX

    @misc{usedata_shutoffs_states_washington,
      author = "Electric Consumer",
      title = {Washington electric disconnections: 3.7 per 100 accounts in 2024},
      year = {2026},
      url = {https://electricconsumer.org/shutoffs/states/washington.html},
      note = {Data as of 7 October 2026. Accessed [date accessed]}
    }
    Embed this chart or number

    Free to use. No tracking, no scripts. Each embed links back to this site.

    Charts on this page (SVG)

    Copies a self-contained SVG with the source and a link to this page inside the image.